Webinar: Responding to Abuse in Later Life: The Role of Forensic Nurses

Responding to Abuse in Later Life: The Role of Forensic Nurses

February 2, 2023
10am PT | 11am MT | 12pm CT | 1pm ET – (60 minutes)

Presented by:  Dr. Kathleen Thimsen, Director of the Doctorate in Nursing Practice Program at the University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Nursing as well as the co-Director of its Community Clinic and Treasurer of the Forensic Nursing Certification Board; and Martie Washington, Abuse in Later Life Program Coordinator at the National Clearinghouse on Abuse in Later Life (NCALL).


Abuse in later life refers to the intersection of domestic violence, sexual assault, elder abuse, neglect and exploitation. While severely underreported, abuse in later life has a significant impact on an older adult’s health and well-being. There are unique dynamics and safety barriers older survivors experience and multidisciplinary coordination helps communities address the complexity of abuse in later life. Forensic nurses are specialized to provide care to survivors of trauma and victimization. They play a key role in supporting older survivors of abuse and can be key partners in the coordination of services to support older survivors.

This webinar is created for multidisciplinary professionals that serve older adults. Attendees of this webinar will be able to explain the role of forensic nurses in the response to violence across the life span, and how to engage forensic nurses in an inter-agency coordinated response to abuse in later life. Attendees will have the opportunity to ask questions of the presenters during the presentation.

Register today!

Contact Martie Washington at mwashington@ncall.us with any questions.


This project was supported by Grant 15JOVW-21-GK-02196-MUMU awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this webinar are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.

Other news stories

Safe exit Quickly & safely exit this site